Oregon’s Minimum Wage Law

Oregon’s new minimum wage law went into effect on July 1, 2016. The new law established a series of rate increases beginning on July 1, 2016 through July 1, 2022. For July 1, 2023 and forward the minimum wage rate will be adjusted based on the Consumer Price Index.


Under this law the state is divided into three regions – employers in the urban growth boundary (currently only the Portland Metro area has an urban growth boundary), nonurban counties, and everywhere else.

To see if your business is located in the Urban Growth Boundary (Portland Metro) go to:


Oregon Sign

Oregon’s nonurban counties are Baker, Coos, Crook, Curry, Douglas, Gilliam, Grant, Harney, Jefferson, Klamath, Lake, Malheur, Morrow, Sherman, Umatilla, Union, Wallowa, and Wheeler.

Date Standard Portland Metro Nonurban counties
January 1, 2016 $9.25 $9.25 $9.25
July 1, 2016 $9.75 $9.75 $9.50
July 1, 2017 $10.25 $11.25 $10.00
July 1, 2018 $10.75 $12.00 $10.50
July 1, 2019 $11.25 $12.50 $11.00
July 1, 2020 $12.00 $13.25 $11.50
July 1, 2021 $12.75 $14.00 $12.00
July 1, 2022 $13.50 $14.75 $12.50
July 1, 2023 Adjusted annually based on the increase to the US City Average CPI $1.25 over the standard minimum wage $1.00 less than the standard minimum wage

For employees that work at more than one location the employer must pay the minimum wage rate for the region that the employee works more than 50% of their time for all hours.

If you have any questions about Oregon’s new minimum wage law, please give our office a call.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Notify me of followup comments via e-mail.